HomeBase MetalsWebinar 7 October: Holistically solving dewatering with engineered-to-order solutions

Webinar 7 October: Holistically solving dewatering with engineered-to-order solutions

7 October 2021

12h00 GMT | 13h00 WAT | 14h00 SAT | 14h00 CAT | 15h00 EAT | 16h00 Dubai

60 Minute session

Dewatering is critical to open-pit mining operations and more resources are now being allocated to its optimisation. If executed correctly, a carefully designed and implemented dewatering system has the potential to increase pit utilisation, reduce mine energy usage, CO₂ emissions and significantly lower OPEX over the life of the mine.

There is a growing awareness that no two mine sites, and their associated requirements are the same. As such, the industry is moving towards customised solutions, which means a one-size-fits-all approach to dewatering is neither cost effective nor sustainable.

The trends informing dewatering practices mirror many of those that are observable across all mining processes:

  • a focus on sustainability;
  • customised, holistic solutions based on each site’s unique geological and climatic conditions;
  • and the emergence of new technologies, with a particular focus on real-time monitoring. 

Join Weir Minerals and Mining Review Africa as we unpack the topic of open-pit dewatering and cover the above areas of relevance, in addition to:

  • Ideal dewatering optimisation mechanisms which can be achieved through submersible, centrifugal and vertical turbine pumps;
  • How to avoid poorly matched pumps with the duty they need to perform;
  • How best to work with a service provider that can improves the overall Total Cost of Ownership.

Moderator:

Laura Cornish, Editor-in-Chief, Mining Review Africa 

Speakers:

Marnus Koorts, Product Manager: Pumps, Weir Minerals South Africa

Ian Ross, Dewatering Global Product Manager, Weir Minerals

LATEST FEATURE