METS WEBINAR

Live broadcast date: 25 March 2021

08h00 Toronto | 12h00 GMT | 12h00 London | 13h00 WAT | 14h00 Johannesburg | 20h00 Perth

With easily accessible ore bodies becoming depleted, transitioning to a deeper underground mine can significantly extend the life of an existing operation. Vertical shafts is often the only way to access ore reserves for deeper Greenfield operations. The schedule duration and costs of sinking vertical shafts can however often negatively impact the business case.

Accessing deeper underground ore reserves, be it for Greenfield or life-of-mine extension (for opencast or decline operations) projects profitably becomes one of the greatest challenges mining companies are confronted with.

Finding solutions outside of the conventional approach to shaft sinking projects can help mine owners lower costs whilst gaining earlier access to underground ore reserves.

Join UMS Group and Mining Review Africa for a webinar that will explore these solutions in detail.

Key discussion points will include:

  • Sinking schedule reduction through various alternative strategies whilst considering mine geology
  • Using innovation to better integrate between sinking and permanent designs
  • Innovative procurement opportunities for long lead equipment items
  • Strategies to minimise changeover requirements from sinking to permanent phase
  • Maximising use of existing infrastructure
  • Strategies to optimise pre-sink operations based on equipment availabilities
  • Using local knowledge as part of the planning / feasibility studies to benefit the project (i.e. local knowledge of electrical supply, etc.)

Speakers:

Andrew Green, Principal Mechanical Engineering | UMS Group

James Keir, Group Executive: Project Technical Services | UMS Group

Pieter Pieters, Chief Design Engineer | UMS Group

Murray Macnab, Chief Operating Officer, UMS Group

Moderator:

Laura Cornish, Editor-in-Chief | Mining Review Africa