anglo american gold
At the 127th AGM of the Chamber of Mines members elected the new office bearers for the 2017/2018 period including new president Mxolisi Mgojo.

The Chamber of Mines is the preeminent mining employers’ organisation and represents companies that produce around 90% of South Africa’s mineral production, by value.

Mxolisi Mgojo, CEO of Exxaro Resources, was elected Chamber of Mines president. Steve Phiri, CEO of Royal Bafokeng Platinum, was elected vice president. Both Andile Sangqu and Neal Froneman were re-elected as vice presidents.

“The Chamber of Mines office bearers play a crucial role in leading and representing the industry, and in providing strategic leadership guidance to the Chamber team,” says Chamber of Mines CEO, Roger Baxter.

“We welcome the new office bearers and look forward to their support and wise counsel in the year ahead.”

For the 2017/2018 period chamber members have agreed to expand the office bearer team by an extra member to support the Chamber of Mines in dealing with the key challenges in the environment that need addressing, hence an additional vice-president role has been added.

“I am very confident that under the current leadership the Chamber of Mines will make further progress in its task of properly representing and assisting its members, and that it will continue to play an ever-increasing role in the development of South Africa’s mining industry for the benefit of all,” continues Baxter.

“I extend our gratitude to outgoing President, Mike Teke for his exemplary leadership of the chamber and his invaluable contribution to the mining industry during extremely challenging times.”

Profiles of the Chamber of Mines office bearers


Mxolisi Mgojo was appointed CEO of Exxaro Resources on 1 April 2016. He served as an executive head of coal at Exxaro since August 2008 and served as its executive head of operations. He was also responsible for the base metals and industrial minerals commodity business of Exxaro. Previously, Mgojo served as head of group marketing of Eyesizwe Coal.

Vice presidents of the Chamber of Mines

Andile Sangqu is currently executive head of Anglo American South Africa. He has also held senior positions in various government departments and currently serves as a non-executive director in a number of companies.

Neal Froneman has been at the helm of Sibanye since January 2013 and has some 30 years of operational, corporate development and mining industry experience. He was appointed CEO of Aflease Gold in April 2003. Aflease Gold, through a series of reverse take-overs, became Gold One in May 2009. Prior to joining Aflease Gold, Neal held executive and senior management positions at Gold Fields of South Africa Limited, Harmony Gold and JCI Limited.

Steve Phiri has been at the helm of RBPlat since its formation in April 2010. Prior to that, he was the CEO of ferrochrome producer Merafe Resources. He previously headed up the Royal Bafokeng Nation’s corporate and legal affairs, which included negotiations with entities such as Merafe and Impala Platinum. He is admitted as an attorney of the High Court of South Africa.

All images courtesy of the Chamber of Mines