HomeBusiness and policySA Chamber of Mines renamed: Minerals Council South Africa

SA Chamber of Mines renamed: Minerals Council South Africa

The President of the Chamber of Mines of South Africa, Mxolisi Mgojo, has announced that the organisation will be known as the Minerals Council South Africa. Since it was formalised in 1889, the organisation has undergone several name changes which have always coincided with developments in South Africa.

At the same time, the new Minerals Council revealed its corporate identity, which draws on the elements of the logo, and which displays a proudly South African heritage and future.

This name change and the development of a new identity was not taken lightly, and
followed extensive research and consultation undertaken by a leading South African brand

During the course of this research it became clear that it had become necessary to align the industry’s name and visual identity with its current ethos and role, and its vision for
the future.

The Minerals Council represents more than 70 large, medium-sized and small and emerging miners, as well as three associations that collectively represent more than 200 additional entities.

Minerals Council members make up around 90% of South Africa’s mineral production
by value.

Mgojo noted: “For 128 years, the Minerals Council has played an integral role in South Africa’s over 130-year mining history. The Minerals Council was first formalised as the Chamber of Mines in 1889. Throughout its life, like our country, the Chamber has undergone continuous change and has adapted to new situations, always with
continuity in its governance. The Minerals Council throughout its 128 year history is a
microcosm of its members interests and has adapted and changed to meet the changing

“Like our society and our country, we – as the Board of the Minerals Council – have also spent some time on reflection and introspection. Our priorities today, perhaps more so than ever in the past, are good corporate citizenship, social and environmental responsibility, competitiveness, growth and transformation.

“While the Minerals Council, and the mining industry, has had a long history of contributing to the South African mining industry, we recognise that this history is not without its challenges.

“This change signals our desire to move forward, building a new legacy, and creating a future of which all South Africans can be proud. And while we acknowledge our past, we do not accept that we cannot make things better for the future.

“As the Minerals Council, we are well aware that a new logo will not create a new legacy.
Rather, the logo is a symbol of the organisation and industry’s efforts and aspirations. In all that the Minerals Council does, it will endeavour to represent and lead members in a way that reflects its vision and values. More than that, through its Membership Compact, the Minerals Council will hold members accountable to the commitments that it and our members have made.

“We have no doubt that we as the Minerals Council and its members will face many
challenges. But we also know that we have entered a far more positive political environment than we have experienced in recent years. And we know that our members are committed to mining in an effective and responsible manner that will ensure fair returns to investors and to the country.”

The Minerals Council has also announced council members re-elected the current office bearers to serve for another term of office in 2018/2019.

Mxolisi Mgojo, CEO of Exxaro Resources, was re-elected as President.

Steve Phiri, CEO of Royal Bafokeng Platinum, Andile Sangqu, executive head of Anglo American South Africa and Neal Froneman, CEO of Sibanye-Stillwater were re-elected as Vice Presidents.

In addition, there have been a number of changes to the Board, the highest decision-making body of the organisation:

Daphne Mashile-Nkosi, Chairperson of Kalagadi Manganese has retired from her role as a Board member as a result of other commitments.


Deshnee Naidoo, CEO of Vedanta Zinc International has been elected to the Board.

Errol Smart, CEO of Orion Minerals has been elected by the Mineral Council’s newly-formed Emerging Miners Leadership Forum to represent emerging miners on the Board.

Chris Sheppard, COO of AngloGold Ashanti will also join the board with immediate effect.

Roger Baxter, CEO of the Mineral Council said: “The Minerals Council Office Bearers and Board members play a pivotal role in leading and representing the mining industry.

“The strategic leadership guidance they provide to the Minerals Council team is vital in achieving our mandate.

“We are fortunate to have continuity in the leadership team with the re-election of all Office Bearers.

“We welcome Deshnee Naidoo, Errol Smart and Chris Sheppard to the Board. They bring with them a wealth of experience and expertise and we look forward to their contribution to helping #MakingMiningMatter.”