Does coal have a place in Southern Africa's future energy mix? Join us for a live debate around a question at the heart of Africa's industrial economic growth.

In the first of a series of collaborative webinars between ESI-Africa and Mining Review Africa, we'll hear from a panel of industry experts and open the floor for discussion with the live audience.

Should investors be putting money into coal mines? Can coal and renewable energy be complimentary? Is clean coal a reality? Is renewable energy infrastructure affordable enough to discard coal? Join the debate!

The webinar will be moderated by Mining Review Africa editor Laura Cornish - who will also be chairing a session on this topic atInvesting in African Mining Indaba  - and ESI-Africa editor Nicolette Pombo-van Zyl.S

Speakers:

Vuslat Bayoglu, Managing Director, Menar Capital

Vuslat is the founder and managing director of Menar Capital which has controlling stakes in Canyon Coal, Zululand Anthracite Colliery, Sitatunga Resources and Kangra Coal. He is a hands-on investor with over 16 years’ experience in the mining industry.

Silas Zimu, former energy adviser in the presidency, South Africa

Silas Mzingeli Zimu started his energy career at Eskom in 1992 where he worked as an engineer in the generation group and joined City Power as a general manager - planning and technology thereafter. Silas has extensive experience in both business and strategic management. He holds a B. Eng. Honours degree in Electrical and Electronic Engineering and an Msc in Engineering Management.

Full panel to be confirmed...

Date: January 31, 2019
Time: 14h30 SAST (12h30 GMT / 13h30 CET)

REGISTER HERE