Live broadcast date: Thursday, 20 October 2020

07h30 New York | 11h30 GMT | 12h30 London | 13h30 Paris | 13h30 Amsterdam | 13h30 Johannesburg | 17h00 New Delhi | 19h30 Singapore | 21h30 Melbourne

African Mining Forum, hosted in Rwanda in 2019, is evolving to ensure it continues to provide its audience with the information and knowledge sharing opportunities necessary to build greater business opportunities in Africa as we continue to operate within a COVID-19 world.

This is the third episode in a series of expert-led Webinars to help guide your African mining investment decisions.

Following on from the ‘Africa Mining Tour’ journey we started in the East and West African regions, AMF’s third event in the series takes a close look at key strategic regions in Southern Africa – South Africa, Namibia and Zimbabwe – looking at the junior market and how they are faring amidst the pandemic, how investment decisions have changed and influenced their businesses, and what plans are in play for the short, medium and long-term future.

While COVID-19 has significantly changed operating models, as well as investors’ approaches and decision-making, there are still opportunities for the junior sector in these territories, which will support the recovery of the broader mining industry.

Join Africa Mining Forum and Mining Review Africa for a webinar that will dissect the current and future impact of COVID-19 in South Africa, Namibia and Zimbabwe, and how the resilience of the mining sector has the power to overcome this challenge, like many others that have come before and are still to come.

Key discussion points will include:

  • Understanding the untapped potential in these regions for the junior sector
  • What is the key to seeing the three regions recover and establish sustainable projects
  • Insight on legislation updates in South Africa, Namibia and Zimbabwe – what you need to know to make an investment decision during and/or post COVID-19
  • Unpacking the impacts and challenges brought by the pandemic in those territories
  • Key projects in these regions – successes and knowledge sharing from miners already investing in South Africa, Namibia and Zimbabwe

Speakers:

Sam Hosack, Managing Director | Prospect Resources

Hosack is a third generation Zimbabwean, residing in Western Australia. He holds a Bachelors Engineering Degree (Hons) from Essex University in UK, MBA from Ashcroft Business School (UK) and respective professional registrations. He had hands on experience in the delivery of large scale mining, power and port projects to market, as well as their operations.

For the past 12 years he has been employed by First Quantum Minerals, primarily in their projects team, where most recently he has project managed the building of a port (coal offloading and copper loading), 120 km 230 KV transmission line and a 300 MV coal-fired power station for the Minera Panama project in Panama. His mining and operations experience in North and Southern Africa, Europe, Australia, and Central America will be central in delivering the Arcadia project and in building Prospect Resources into a diversified mining business

Mitford Mundell, Chief Executive Officer – Africa | Theta Gold Mines

Tony Harwood, CEO and President |Montero Mining & Exploration