Webinar broadcast: Tuesday 14 April 2020

08h30 New York | 12h30 GMT | 13h30 London | 14h30 Johannesburg | 14h30 Paris | 18h00 New Delhi | 20h30 Singapore | 22h30 Melbourne

Mine safety legislation is becoming progressively tighter as the industry strives towards achieving its objective of Zero Harm. New legislation promulgated by the Department of Mineral Resources and Energy requires all mines to take steps to install proximity detection systems (PDS) on trackless mobile machinery to mitigate human and machine related incidents, both at surface and underground.

The pressure is now on, given that Level 9 safety standards must be in place by December 2020, failing to do so could mean severe action being brought against responsible parties and mine owners.

Join Mining Review Africa for a Webinar that will unpack the regulatory requirements and outline the measures to be put in place for effective collision management.

What you will learn:

  • What the regulation say as far as the adoption of these technologies is concerned;
  • Proximity detection systems and collision avoidance systems best practice and industry standards;
  • Industry partnerships aimed at accelerating innovation in the field of collision avoidance;
  • Going beyond compliance with new technologies;
  • Advice from one of the frontrunners in the South African PDS sector on how to choose a system that meets regulatory requirements.

Panellists:

Kate Collier, Partner | Webber Wentzel

Anton Lourens, Chief Executive Officer | Booyco Electronics

Chris Doran, Managing Director | Mitacom